Frequently Asked Questions
What is sexual assault?
Sexual assault is any type of sexual contact or behavior that occurs without the explicit consent of the recipient.
What is the difference between sexual assault and rape?
While sexual assault represents a broad range of unwanted contact or behavior of a sexual nature, rape is defined as unwanted penetration, whether this is oral, vaginal, or anal. This means that rape is a form of sexual assault.
How often does sexual assault or rape occur?
According to the National Sexual Violence Resource Center, 1 in 3 women and 1 in 6 men experience some form of sexual violence in their lifetime. Nearly 1 in 5 women and 1 in 71 men in the U.S. have been raped at some time in their lives. (Source: National Intimate Partner and Sexual Violence Survey, 2010.)
At what age can sexual assault begin?
Sexual assault can begin at any age. One in three women who experienced sexual assault indicated it first occurred between the ages of 11 and 17, and one in nine women reported being assaulted before the age of 10. Almost 30% of men reported being raped for the first time before the age of 10. (Source: National Intimate Partner and Sexual Violence Survey, 2010.)
At what age are people at the highest risk of being sexually assaulted?
People ages 12 to 34 years are at the highest risk for rape and sexual assault. Women ages 16 to 24 years are at the highest risk of being victims of rape and sexual assault.
How often is sexual assault or rape reported?
Rape is the most under-reported crime, and 63% of sexual assaults are not reported to the police. Also, more than 90% of sexual assault victims on college campuses do not report the assault. (Source: National Intimate Partner and Sexual Violence Survey, 2010.)
What is the age of consent in Georgia?
The age of consent in Georgia is 16. Both partners must be at least 16 years old to do anything physically intimate or sexually arousing – from “messing around” to having oral sex or intercourse.
What is statutory rape?
Statutory Rape is having intercourse with any person under the age of 16 years (unless you are married). Statutory Rape is a felony that carries prison time. O.C.G.A § 16-6-3
If the victim is at least 14 but less than 16 years of age and the person convicted of statutory rape is 18 years of age or younger and is no more than four years older than the victim, such person shall be guilty of a misdemeanor. O.C.G.A § 16-6-3 (c)
What about the Romeo and Juliet Provision?
The Romeo and Juliet Provision does not make underage sexual activity “legal” but rather lowers the charge from a felony to a misdemeanor. A misdemeanor can still carry jail time, probation, or a fine. (Source: National Intimate Partner and Sexual Violence Survey, 2010.)
What is an Advocate?
An Advocate is someone who will support clients and assist them in any legal, medical, or personal issues related to the assault. An Advocate will also recommend other resources that will assist the client’s needs. Advocates have 40 hours of initial training and 10 hours of annual continuing education.
What if I was assaulted or raped?
If you are sexually assaulted or raped, call the 24-hour hotline at 770-834-RAPE (7273) for resources and advocacy support.
If I call, who will talk to me?
The 24-hour hotline is answered by an Advocate. The needs of the caller are assessed. Referrals will be made if necessary. PARC offers immediate services to sexual assault victims, their family, and their friends.
What if no one believes me?
The staff at PARC will believe you. We specialize in assisting people who have been directly or indirectly impacted by sexual assault or rape. We will provide the support you will need throughout your healing process. We will assist you in any legal, medical, or personal issues that may arise due to the assault, and we will do this while creating a safe and supportive environment.
What if alcohol or drugs were involved?
The use of alcohol or drugs does not mean that you deserved to be assaulted or raped. A person who is under the influence of alcohol or drugs does not have the capability to give consent to any type of sexual activity. At times people can be taken advantage of because they are under the influence. If this is the case for you or someone you know, the assault or rape was not your fault, and PARC can still assist you in your time of need.
What if I know the person who raped me?
In eight out of ten cases of rape, the victim knew the person who assaulted them. Nearly one in ten women has been raped by an intimate partner. It does not matter if you know the person who raped you; rape is a crime. PARC is here to help you if you have been raped or assaulted.
What risks are associated with being a victim of sexual assault?
Survivors of rape attempt suicide at a rate of 13%, and 94% of women will experience symptoms of PTSD within the weeks directly after being raped. (Source: National Intimate Partner and Sexual Violence Survey, 2010.)
Will PARC provide services to victims that do not report to law enforcement?
Yes, regardless of whether a report is made or is not made to the police, PARC’s services are still available to victims and their families.
What is a Counselor?
A Counselor is someone who possesses an advanced degree and is licensed by the state to provide therapy based upon principles generally accepted as being appropriate to sexual violence. They may also recommend other resources that will assist in meeting the client’s needs.
What does the assessment consist of?
An assessment is a list of questions that helps the counselor understand your needs.
What kinds of resources may be provided?
Your counselor may talk with you about other services that PARC provides, and may recommend various professionals or services that can assist you in accomplishing your personal goals. These recommendations may include books and other resources, as well as particular kinds of activities or coping techniques.